A new quilt appears!

My friend is having a little girl, and I thought I’d make her a quilt as a baby shower gift. The problem–the shower is on the 15th, and I hadn’t gotten anything fabric-wise, nor had I picked a pattern. Her theme is Hello Kitty (do you know how hard it is to match colors to Hello Kitty fabric?), so I made a run to Jo-Ann’s today to get the fabric and batting I needed.

I’m using the Disappearing 9-Patch baby quilt by Janice Zeller as the pattern, and got some cute fabric–pinks, white, blue, green for the binding, and more Hello Kitty (also pink) for the backing.

Today, I got all 9 blocks sewn together, and just finished cutting the blocks so I can rotate them and then sew them back together. I think what I may do is go ahead and quilt the small blocks before I sew them back together so I don’t have a huge quilting project at the end of this.

Here’s the fabric I’m using:

Quilt blocks:

  • Country Classic: white, monaco blue, and fuschia
  • Keepsake Calico: Pink vine with birds, Small dots on Rose Pink
  • Heidi Grace: Floral Vine
  • Hello Kitty: paler pink
  • Stella Collection for Windham Fabrics: Caris in Dove Gray (40693-7)  by Lotta Jansdotter
  • A light blue paisley scatter I found at Joann’s and now can’t find again

Binding: Country Classic in Vineyard Green

Backing: Hello Kitty (slightly darker pink)

Leave a Reply

